Dulu Lain Logo
23 Best Footballers In The World 23 Best Footballers In The World
The nomination for the prestigious  FIFA Ballon d’Or is out and 23 best footballers in the world have been named by FIFA to be... 23 Best Footballers In The World

The nomination for the prestigious  FIFA Ballon d’Or is out and 23 best footballers in the world have been named by FIFA to be considered as the worthy winner of the award and the tag as “The Best Footballer In The World” for the year 2013. Included in the list are three times winner Lionel Messi of Argentina, Real Madrid’s superstar Cristiano Ronaldo, Premier League’s top scorer Robin Van Persie and world’s most expensive footballer – Gareth Bale of Wales.

Best Footballers In The World

The award started in 2010 after France Football’s Ballon d’Or and the men’s FIFA World Player of the Year award were merged. It is awarded based on votes by coaches and captains of international teams, as well as journalists from around the world. So far, there is only ONE winner, Lionel Messi who won it three times in a row – 2010, 2011 and 2012. The little Argentine is favorite yet again this year along with Ronaldo and Bayern Munich’s Franck Ribéry.

The 23 players that been shortlisted for the award are: Gareth Bale (Wales), Edinson Cavani (Uruguay), Radamel Falcao (Colombia), Eden Hazard (Belgium), Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden), Andrés Iniesta (Spain), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Robert Lewandowski (Poland), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Thomas Müller (Germany), Manuel Neuer (Germany), Neymar (Brazil), Mesut Özil (Germany), Andrea Pirlo (Italy), Franck Ribéry (France), Arjen Robben (Netherlands), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Luis Suárez (Uruguay), Thiago Silva (Brazil), Yaya Touré (Côte d’Ivoire), Robin Van Persie (Netherlands) and Xavi (Spain).

Interestingly, there are 5 German players in the list and NOT A SINGLE Englishman included. Not even Wayne Rooney! The list of 23 Best Footballers In The World has been drawn up by football experts from the FIFA Football Committee and by a group of experts from France Football. The winners of all of the awards will be revealed at the FIFA Ballon d’Or as part of a televised show at the Zurich Kongresshaus on 13 January 2014, during which the FIFA FIFPro World XI, the FIFA Puskás Award – for the most beautiful goal of the year – the FIFA Presidential Award and the FIFA Fair Play Award will also be presented.

Who do you think will win the FIFA Ballon d’Or? Feel free to name your favourite player and comment below. To discuss who YOU think should win this year’s prizes on Twitter, use the hashtag #BallondOr. Thank you.

23 Best Footballers In The World

Ismail N

ISMAIL N is the Chief Blogger/Blog Owner. An HR practitioner in his normal daily life & a casual blogger in his free time. Addicted to coffee, Man Utd and Pokemon Go (TL40). Most easily accessed via his Twitter account.

  • Joe

    November 1, 2013 #1 Author

    I would be suprised if Messi wins it. Aku rase Ribery patut menang. Die tolong bayern munchen menang treble.


  • TehR

    November 1, 2013 #2 Author

    entah bila la pemain kita nak dapat masuk dalam senarai macam ni


  • Fadhil Husin

    November 1, 2013 #3 Author

    Hmm. close call. I prefer Messi but Ribery could be the surprised winner


  • mie

    October 31, 2013 #4 Author

    memang tidak dinafikan…
    tak ada ke dari England?


  • adikensem

    October 31, 2013 #5 Author

    Zlatan Ibrahimovic


  • titan

    October 30, 2013 #6 Author

    takde pun gol keeperr…


    • md

      October 31, 2013 #7 Author

      tu ada Manuel Neuer (Germany)


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.