Rafael Nadal: The Eighth Wonder Of The World

Rafael Nadal

Rafael Nadal has won his EIGHTH French Open titles with a 6-3 6-2 6-3 victory over David Ferrer at Roland Garros today. With that the ‘King Of Clay’ became the first man to win a Grand Slam title on EIGHT occasions.

His seven French Open titles in 2005-08 and 2010-12 already are the most in history.

The only other men in the last 80 years to win seven trophies at any Grand Slam tournament are Roger Federer and Pete Sampras, who both achieved that total at Wimbledon.

Rafa turned pro at age 15 and made it to the boys’ semifinal at Wimbledon a year later. He won his first title at the Roland Garros while was still 19. He has now won 59 out of 60 matches at Roland Garros.

Obviously, there is no longer a debate about Nadal’s place as the greatest clay-court player of all time.

Apart from 8 French Open titles, the Spaniard also holds 32 major clay-court titles, plus a handful of clay titles at other venues and he still has more tennis years ahead. The only question left is whether there will ever be another clay-court player who can surpass Nadal’s legacy?

My bet: Most probably NOT!

– Rafael Nadal: The Eighth Wonder Of The World


Comments are closed.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons